We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Rock Paper Scissors

by Ryan Ingebritsen

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $8 USD  or more


  • Cassette + Digital Album

    Includes a cassette of Rock Paper Scissors and an accompanying foldout poster designed by Magdalena Wistuba.

    So damn sleek.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Rock Paper Scissors via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days

      $10 USD or more 




Rock Paper Scissors is a document of composer Ryan Ingebritsen's years-long work with some of his closest fellow musicians. These six collaborative, composed, and improvised pieces were recorded in locations throughout the city of Chicago chosen specifically for acoustic properties which best served the music at hand. Part improvisation, part electronic, part interactive with the acoustic space itself, each work explores the world that exists between the notes on the page, the speakers in the room, and the space where instrumentalist and electronic manipulator react to one another in real time. The result: a static moment, recorded in history. Like two people playing a game of Rock Paper Scissors.

In collaboration with: Erica Dicker, Erica Mott, Josh Rubin, Sam Scranton, Spektral Quartet, & Third Coast Percussion.


released November 20, 2015

Produced by Ryan Ingebritsen and Grayson Elliott Taylor

Recorded and Engineered by Grayson Elliott Taylor

Mixed by Grayson Elliott Taylor and Ryan Ingebritsen

Mastered by Grayson Elliott Taylor

Recorded in Chicago at the National Museum of Health and Medicine, the Studebaker Theater, and eighth blackbird’s studio/the unofficial new music warehouse of Chicago.

Album Art & Design by Magdalena Wistuba

Special thanks to Shannon Budd, Hugh Sato, Nadia Chana, Fides Krucker, Jenna Lyle, Laura Oppenheimer, Maggie Mascal, Hope Littwin, Katie Mazzini, John Boesche, Eric Mandat, Andrew Tham, Deidre Huckabay, and all the Parlour Tapes+ peeps, Gregory Miller, Jonathan Laney, Threshold Acoustics, the Sound Room (Kyle Vegter and Dan Dehaan), High Concept Labs, Denis Kolokol, Cory Herberger, Duncan Reilly, Annie Higgins, Rachel Damon, Peter McDowell, eighth blackbird, Matthew Duvall, Maciej Milowicki , Christopher Chalupsky, Vic Kalwajtys, Cyndy Lilagan, Mike Doyle, Elise Pescitelli, ICE, the crew at the J. Pritzker Pavilion, Roger Penrose, H.P. Lovecraft, Cycling74, Chris Penrose and Eric Lyon, Glenn Beck, Anne Coulter, Shawn Hannity and Bill O’Reilly.


all rights reserved



Parlour Tapes+ Chicago, Illinois

Parlour Tapes+ is Chicago's first contemporary art music tape label.

contact / help

Contact Parlour Tapes+

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Rock Paper Scissors, you may also like: